Gonzales Masonic Lodge #30

Some Lodge HISTORY

Gonzales Masonic Lodge No 30 was chartered on January 17, 1847 and been in its present location of 519 1/2 St. Joseph St. for more than 119 consecutive years. The City of Gonzales has a rich history with the Masonic Lodge. For example, six of the Gonzales “Old Eighteen” were Masons. The Lodge originally met in the Methodist Church building located where the parsonage (office) now stands from 1847 to 1848. Some time during 1848 the Lodge moved into a frame corner building which later was used as a Chinese laundry. In 1854 the Lodge and Methodist Church erected a two-story building where the present day church now stands. The Lodge owned the upper story and continued to meet here until 1875 when the building became uninhabitable at which time they met in the "Odd Fellows" building. The Methodist Church joined together with the Masonic Lodge and agreed to tear down the existing building and jointly replace it with a new two-story building, which at the time was known as the "Red Brick Church". It was dedicated on January 1, 1875 and the upper floor served as the Masonic Lodge for 22 years until 1897.



More to come later.

     2B1-ASK1